American Textile Hall of Fame

Picture 029

Please note: With the closing of the American Textile History Museum, the American Textile Hall of Fame is now located in the center gallery at the Revolution Mill Lofts in Greensboro, N.C., under a cooperative agreement with Randolph Heritage Conservancy, which accepted a large portion of the ATHM machinery collection. RHC is a nonprofit organization with a mission to preserve, manage and interpret the history of the American textile industry, with particular focus on the impact of the industry in transforming manufacturing and mechanical engineering in the United States.

The American Textile Hall of Fame, established in 2001, honored leaders in the textile field who have contributed to advancing the art, science or history of textiles in America. Bestowed annually through 2014, an independent Board of Governors appointed by the American Textile History Museum’s Board of Trustees, nominated individuals, companies or historical figures to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Each inductee was honored at a luncheon, and their induction commemorated at the American Textile History Museum in a special gallery space devoted to the Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame Honorees have become a part of the industry’s history and legacy, as told by the ATHM through its comprehensive exhibitions, programs and events.

Hall of Fame Inductees

Class of 2014

Weavers’ Guild of Boston
Deborah S. Pulliam

Class of 2013

J. Dukes Wooters

Class of 2012

Peter Scotese
Dr. Masahiro Shima

Class of 2011

Stephanie Kwolek
Elliott White Springs
Robert Ten Broeck Stevens

Class of 2010

Malcolm G. Chace III
Hugh Wadsworth Crawford, Jr. and Stevens Linen Works
Allen E. Gant, Jr. and Glen Raven, Inc.
Shaw Industries Group, Inc.

Class of 2009

Cotton Incorporated
Cranston Print Works
W. L. Gore Company

Class of 2008

Levi Strauss & Co.
Gordon Osborne
Pendleton Woolen Mills
James S. Self
Edward B. Stevens

Class of 2005

Robert C. Jackson
Saco-Lowell Shops

Class of 2004

American Viscose Corporation
W. Duke Kimbrell
Jack Lenor Larsen
National Cotton Council

Class of 2003

Draper Corporation
Dalton McMichael
The Men and Women of the American Textile Industry

Class of 2002

Frederick Dent
Whitin Machine Works
J. Spencer Love

Class of 2001

Roger Milliken
Duke Power
Samuel Slater