Four Industry Leaders Named to Class of 2002 American Textile Hall of Fame

In a tribute to America’s spirit of enterprise, four leaders have been elected to the Class of 2002 of the American Textile Hall of Fame (ATHF), a program honoring dedication and commitment to the nation’s textile industry. The ATHF, now in its second year, is permanently housed in Lowell, Massachusetts at the American Textile History Museum.

2002 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

2002 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony
Accepting for Inductees, (l to r), Steven R. McCracken,
President, DuPont Textiles and Interiors for Inductee E.I.
du Pont de Nemours & Company; James S. Love, Jr., for
James Spencer Love; Frederick B. Dent; and
E. Kent Swift, Jr. for Whitin Machine Works.

The inductees were: E. I. DuPont de Nemours and Company, Wilmington, DE; Frederick B. Dent, former Chairman of Mayfair Mills, Spartanburg, SC and Secretary of Commerce in the Nixon and Ford cabinets; James Spencer Love (1896-1962) pioneer in weaving synthetic fibers and founder of Burlington Industries, Greensboro, NC; and Whitin Machine Works of Whitinsville, MA.

The Class of 2002 was honored on Monday, September 9, 2002 at a luncheon and induction ceremony at the American Textile History Museum hosted by the ATHF Board of Governors and the Museum Board of Trustees. Accepting the awards were: Steven R. McCracken, President of DuPont Textiles & Interiors; Frederick Dent of Spartanburg, SC; Robert Love of Greenwich, CT, son of the late James Spencer Love; and E. Kent Swift, Jr., of Woodshole, MA, great-great grandson of John C. Whitin who invented the first Whitin picker for cleaning cotton at the beginning of the spinning process.

James M. Fitzgibbons, Chairman of the ATHF Board of Governors who selected the Class of 2002 said “we are honored to welcome this distinguished group who have made an important difference in the textile industry, and offer them a place in the American Textile Hall of Fame to tell their story to future generations.”

The ATHF Board of Governors, appointed in 2001 by the ATHM’s Board of Trustees, includes Fitzgibbons, former Chairman & CEO of Davidson Cotton Company, Charlotte, NC; Robert E. Coleman, former Chairman & CEO, Riegel Textile Corporation and Textile Hall Corporation, Greenville, SC; Robert Dalton, Jr., Tech-Tex, Inc., Charlotte, NC; Walter Y. Elisha, former Chairman & CEO, Spring Industries, Fort Mills, SC; W. Duke Kimbrell, Chairman & CEO, Parkdale Inc., Gastonia, NC; Joseph L. Lanier, Jr., Chairman & CEO, Dan River Mills, Danville,VA; Arthur M. Spiro, AMS Tex Enterprises Inc., Great Neck, NY. Edward B. Stevens, Chairman, Ames Textile Corp., Lowell, MA and ATHM Board of Trustees Chairman, serves as ex Officio Member.

Back to top