Community Service Award

The Community Service Award honors an individual or individuals who have shown outstanding community service through their good works, exemplary volunteer service, compassion, and involvement with the community.

The American Textile History Museum honored the Lowell Community Health Cente

The American Textile History Museum honored the Lowell Community Health Center and CEO Dorcas Grigg-Saito with the 2013 Community Service Award, recognizing LCHC’s tremendous community service in reducing health disparities and enhancing the health of the Greater Lowell community. Pictured are Karl Spilhaus, Chair, ATHM Board of Trustees; Jonathan Stevens, ATHM President/CEO; Dorcas Grigg-Saito; Susanne Beaton, Chair, LCHC Board of Directors; and U.S. Congresswoman Niki Tsongas.

On November 1, 2013 at the UMass Lowell Inn and Conference Center, ATHM will present the award to Dorcas Grigg-Saito and the Lowell Community Health Center for outstanding service to the Greater Lowell community. For more than 40 years, the Lowell Community Health Center has offered quality, caring, and culturally appropriate health care services to the people of Greater Lowell, regardless of their financial status. Through the vision and leadership of Dorcas Grigg-Saito, who has served as Chief Executive Officer since 1997, LCHC has become nationally recognized as a model for culturally appropriate health care and has been named one of the Top 5 Health Centers in the nation by the United States Department of Health and Human Services. LCHC today serves nearly half of Lowell’s population, or over 50,000 people, each year.

For information about sponsorship opportunities or purchasing tickets, please contact Maura Ryan, Coordinator of Membership and Development, at or 978.441.0400 x247

Community Service Award Winners

2002 – Sam Rogers
2003 – Charlotte LaPierre and Nancy Lublin
2004 – Dean Webster
2005 – Malcolm and Elizabeth Chace
2006 – Nancy and Richard Donahue
2007 – John H. Pearson, Jr.
2008 – George and Carol Duncan
2009 – Michael Creasey and the Lowell National Historical Park
2010 – Brenda Costello
2012 – Newell Flather
2013 – Dorcas Grigg-Saito and the Lowell Community Health Center

Read the full press release from the 2013 Community Service Award Gala >>